Understanding The Seven Chakras

1st Chakra – Muladhara: “Root Center”

  • Location – Base of spine
  • Function – Keeping you grounded and efficient, desire to procreate, and want of material security; creating loyalty
  • Element – Earth
  • Color – Red
  • Mantra – “I Am Here”

2nd Chakra – Svadhishthana: “Abode Of The Self” or “Identity Chakra”

  • Location – Basin of the pelvis around the genital area and below the navel
  • Function – Source of our sexuality, desires, lusts, and greed. Drives our creativity, sense of self, and relationships with others.
  • Element – Water
  • Color – Orange
  • Mantra – “I Want”

3rd Chakra – Manipura: “Gem Center”

  • Location – Navel, specifically around the solar plexus, and the digestive system
  • Function – Source of emotion, feeling, intuition, harmony, and transformation. Determines whether a person feels introverted or extroverted, self-confident or unconfident.
  • Element – Fire
  • Color – Yellow
  • Mantra – “I Can”

4th Chakra – Anahata: “Un-Struck” or “Unhurt”, Heart Center

  • Location – Heart
  • Function – Source of compassion and unconditional love translating into one’s ability to share and serve selflessly.
  • Element – Air
  • Color – Green
  • Mantra – “I Give And Receive Love”

5th Chakra – Vishuddha: “Control Center” or “Purification”

  • Location – Neck, throat, jaw, and mouth
  • Function – Creation of individual voice and communication as well as ability to listen to others; allows one to accept compliments and criticism with ease.
  • Element – Sound or Ether (clear sky beyond clouds)
  • Color – Blue
  • Mantra – “I Speak”

6th Chakra – Ajna: “Third Eye” or “Command Center”

  • Location – Between and slightly above the eyes; the center of the brain
  • Function – Self-realization and intuition, seeing the “big picture” as well as beyond the physical (clairvoyance, telepathy, intuition, dreaming, imagination, visualization)
  • Element – Light or Bliss (Mahat)
  • Color – Indigo
  • Mantra – “I See”

7th Chakra – Sahasrara: “Unbound” or “Infinite”, The Seat Of The Soul

  • Location – Crown of the head
  • Function – Realization of the infinite, spirit, Divine God, universe, and unity; enlightenment and spiritual connection; ability to receive understanding and knowledge
  • Element – Universal intelligence (Satchitdananda) or Thought/Meditation
  • Color – White (sometimes depicted as Violet)
  • Mantra – Silence
Scroll to Top